Week 6: Yet another update

Hey guys! It’s been a quite uneventful week up on my end of things, so I really don’t have much to blog about today. I’m just gonna update you my vegie garden. So I’ve decided to discard my recyclable pots because my herbs look like they’ve been craving for more space. My basil and rosemary which I planted in the soda bottles grew pretty well and I’m surprised with how well they’ve been surviving. Here’s a picture of the basil, oh my, it makes me so happy to see it’s actually grown. Look at the roots on the bottom of the bottle!

Image

If you’re wondering what’s growing along the bottom of the photo, they’re radishes which I got about two weeks ago. I had completely forgotten I had bought them for a week before I had planted them in. I thought I had lost them for sure because the leaves were all limp, but surely enough, once I got them in the patch they popped back to life. Phew. If you look at the photo below, I’m growing string beans along the bottom as well. My dad bought them, but had no space in his patch so he gave them to me. Oh and bad news, my tomato plant sort of died (from over watering it). I’ve given it to my dad to see if he can bring it back to life.

Image

Image

Anyways, so this is my vegie patch at the moment. The gap in the middle is for my carrots once the seeds germinate and are ready to plant. My coriander (right from the basil) didn’t really like being in the milk cartons, as you can see below. All of it’s leaves turned purple-orange colour, but hopefully they’ll turn back to green after planting it in the garden bed. I have still yet to re-plant my mint, but I need to find a pot so it can spread out a bit.
Image

Leave a comment